All about my protective style

Protective styling is very essential to hair growth (if done right). Yes there is such a thing as “protective Styling” that’s not so Protective. It’s good to give your hair a break & to tuck those ends away. Protective styling is a great way to retain length and keep that hair healthy

May 6th – June 4th I wore box braids as a protective style. This was my first time wearing box braids and I actually really enjoyed it. The only complaint I have is how uncomfortable the braids were for me to sleep in. However It was nice to wake up and go. If I did choose to style them it took less than 5 minutes. It was wonderful coming from having to style my natural hair everyday to getting up not having to spend any extra time in the morning or at night styling.

Though my hair started to grow out of the braids pretty quick the braids held up very well. I tried to moisturize the braids a few times out the week using Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioner. Everyday I would spray my hair with OGX Kukui Anti-Frizz Hydrating Oil. To see my review if these products check out my Whatsyourstaples post. The spray did really good keeping my braids refreshed and moisturized. I did not wash my hair while I had these braids in. I was worried that my hair would frizz up or the root would loosen if I did. I used Vitamin E oil to oil my scalp and I think this is what saved me from having trouble with dry  or flaking scalp.

IMG_1139

Box Braids Tips 

Tip 1: Moisture, moisture, and more moisture. It’s easy to forget to mositurize your hair while it’s braided. But Do Not forget to give your hair some type of moisture. You can use a leave in, hair lotion or oil for the length of your hair and scalp.

Tip 2: Protect your hair! Since our natural hair is not out it’s easy to forget to grab that silk scarf or bonnet. Do not. Your hair can still get dry and frizzy from rubbing against a cotton pillow case while your sleep. If you do not use either of those make yet you have a silk pillow case.

Tip 3: Don’t kill your edges. I do not recommend having your edges braided to tight! This can cause discomfort and the breaking of your edges. This is very important when it comes to braids. Who doesn’t want strong thick edges.

Leave a Reply

